The Dissonant Image

Dr Nicolas Pillai – Jazz in Film and Television

Publications

Books

Fagge, Roger & Pillai, Nicolas, eds. (2017), New Jazz Conceptions: History, Theory, Practice. New York: Routledge.

Pillai, Nicolas, Jazz as Visual Language: Film, Television and the Dissonant Image. London: I. B. Tauris.

Chapters in books

Wall, Tim and Pillai, Nicolas, ‘Screening popular music’s past: music documentary and biopics’ in Lauren Istvandity, Sarah Baker and Catherine Strong, eds. (2018), The Routledge Companion to Popular Music History and Heritage [forthcoming].

Pillai, Nicolas, ‘Jazz and comics’, in Gebhardt, Nicholas, Nicole Rustin-Paschall and Tony Whyton, eds. (2017) The Routledge Companion to Jazz Studies [forthcoming].

Pillai, Nicolas, ‘Brubeck betwixt and between: television, pop and the middlebrow’ in Roger Fagge and Nicolas Pillai, eds. (2017) New Jazz Conceptions: History, Theory, Practice. Routledge, pp. 90-110.

Pillai, Nicolas, ‘Watching men play: the erotics of the Hollywood jazz film’ in Wolfram Knauer, ed. (2016), Gender and Identity in Jazz. Jazzinstitut Darmstädt, pp. 292-301.

Pillai, Nicolas, ‘Asta: the screwball dog and the Hollywood crime film’ in Sebastian Manley and Kirsten Irving, eds. (2015), Lives Beyond Us: Poems and Essays on the Film Reality of Animals. Sidekick Books, pp. 187-196.

Pillai, Nicolas, ‘This World is Full of Danger: the hard-boiled Nick Cave’ in Sam Kinchin-Smith, ed. (2012), Read Write [Hand]: a Multi-Disciplinary Nick Cave Reader. Silkworms Ink, pp. 75-79.

Articles in refereed journals

Pillai, Nicolas & Priego, Ernesto, (2016). ‘Editorial: Brilliant Corners: Approaches to Jazz and Comics’. The Comics Grid: Journal of Comics Scholarship 6. DOI: http://doi.org/10.16995/cg.92

Pillai, Nicolas, ‘Among My Souvenirs: couples, conventions and the America to come in The Best Years Of Our Lives’. Movie: A Journal of Film Criticism 6 (2015), pp. 53-62.

Pillai, Nicolas, ‘Filming improvisation: jazz criticism’s neglect of film style’. The Soundtrack 6: 1&2 (2014), pp. 5-20.

Pillai, Nicolas, ‘What am I looking at, Mulder?: licensed comics and the freedoms of transmedia storytelling’. Science Fiction Film and Television 6: 1 (2013), pp. 101-117.

Other

Bibliography: ‘Dashiell Hammett’ in Krin Gabbard, ed. (2016), Oxford Bibliographies in Cinema and Media Studies, Oxford University Press.

Entries: ‘Tom Ripley improvises’ and ‘X marks the spot’ in Michael Pigott, ed. (2013), World Film Locations: Venice. Intellect, pp. 76-77, 94-95.

Media Work

Interview on writing Jazz as Visual Language, http://www.londonjazznews.com/2016/11/interview-nicolas-pillai-new-book-jazz.html

DVD booklet: ‘That Autumn in Paris’ (2016), Paris Blues Blu-ray and DVD. British Film Institute: http://shop.bfi.org.uk/seasons/paris-blues.html#.WCmQQ3i5BFI

London Jazz Festival talk (Nov 2015): http://www.instituteofcomposing.org/journal/issue-6/why-jazz-films-dont-exist/

Video – Darmstadt Jazzforum interview (Oct 2015): https://vimeo.com/143594892

CD review: Sidney Bechet – French Movies, http://www.londonjazznews.com/2015/05/cd-review-sidney-bechet-french-movies.html

Gig review: Stacey Kent at the Royal Spa Centre, http://www.londonjazznews.com/2015/04/review-stacey-kent-at-royal-spa-centre.html

Film review: Whiplash is a horror film – so jazz critics should stop worrying, https://theconversation.com/whiplash-is-a-horror-film-so-jazz-critics-should-stop-worrying-36156

Podcast: Jazz 625 at the BBC (in conversation with Professor Tim Wall and Dr Richard Wallace), 22 May 2014: http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/newsandevents/pressreleases/jazz_625_at/

CD review: GoGo Penguin: v2.0, http://www.londonjazznews.com/2014/04/cd-review-gogo-penguin-v20.html

CD review: John Coltrane: Out of This World, http://www.londonjazznews.com/2014/03/cd-review-john-coltrane-out-of-this.html

CD+DVD review: Oscar Peterson and Ben Webster: During This Time, http://www.londonjazznews.com/2014/03/cd-dvd-review-oscar-peterson-and-ben.html

CD review: Joe Stilgoe: Songs on Film Live, http://www.londonjazznews.com/2014/02/cd-review-joe-stilgoe-songs-on-film-live.html

CD review: Chet Baker: Italian Movies, http://www.londonjazznews.com/2014/01/cd-review-chet-baker-italian-movies.html

CD review: Jazz on Film: French New Wave, http://www.londonjazznews.com/2013/10/cd-review-jazz-on-film-french-new-wave.html

CD review: Jazz on Film: Beat, Square & Cool, http://www.londonjazznews.com/2012/11/cd-review-jazz-on-film-beat-square-cool.html

Article: ’The authentic jazz film’ in The Jazz Rag 122 (July 2012), pp. 10-11

Video – Lecture at Rollins College, Florida ‘Looking at jazz: music (inter)nationality and race’, 2012 http://social.rollins.edu/wpsites/mosaic-migration/2012/05/01/pillai/

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: